Gratitude

I used to have a little something i would say when I ended every conversation on the phone with my kids…it went something like this….’are you happy? ‘….oh how they hated that-‘mom!! really what does that mean?’ i would always have the same comeback …’well… …you know ..your life….are you happy in your life?’…again they would be exasperated wondering which part exactly of this multi complex lives that we all live was i asking about?  ~~~I still occasionally come back to my old habitual question but have learned over the years i will never get a straight  answer for that question—  I do continue to  wonder though…are we happy people? And even for me this word happy eludes me…

I love Ted talks  https://www.ted.com/..when i need new fresh thinking ..i refer to one or two talks and i am always inspired. Recently I heard one and the speakers opening statement was ‘are we happy’- this of course caught my attention immediately. he shared a brief discussion about how we tend to buy and buy or over achieve trying to fill this void of discontentment. He concluded it is not things or accomplishments that make us truly happy. He talked of his travels around the world where the poorest of people seemed genuinely  happier than those that seemed to have it all…It was then that he added a new word to the mix ….Gratitude..

The poorest of people he said seemed grateful for what they did have which was often very little. And so it was at that moment that i recognized the correlation in our lives to happiness…all this time i was asking the wrong question- what i should have been asking was not are you happy but what are you grateful for – it is this answer that makes us smile, brings joy to our hearts and a smile on our face-

First and foremost we should be grateful for the very priviledge to be alive in this very moment…..because it is this moment that gives us unlimited opportunity ……it is opportunity that can bring about anything you can dream of because it opens every door imaginable……..

a heart of gratitude….does not say i am happy and therefore I am grateful -instead it says i am so grateful for this opportunity to live yet another day on the planet because today I can begin again ….and this makes me happy

– I mentioned yesterday the 30 day habit maker–lets all begin today with the habit of writing one thing down a day in our journal that we are grateful for- i think we might just all find that our list is incredibly long….and thus the realization that we are indeed very happy people!

 

about the me magic eyeauthor…JoAnn

I am an accomplished artist, designer and gardener with an admitted compulsion for natural intuitive healing and a spiritual connection with the earth. I am a lifelong serial entrepreneur, a creator of extraordinary ideas, and soon to be published author …..let the dreaming begin….

Leave a Reply

